Prose: Towers

There’s this strange mystery in my town
One that’s existed generations before me
Once a month, a clock tower can be heard
It’s distant, but it calls to us, almost pleadingly

GONG

Records show that it used to be deafening
Sometimes causing entire buildings to tremble
But it’s started to recede and become quiet
As if it’s losing its cry

GONG

Some even argue on how loud it is
As if some can hear it perfectly
And others, not at all
Why? That is all I ask.

GONG

No one knows why the bell goes
No one knows what it signifies
And the townsfolk seem indifferent
As if they’ve simply grown accustomed

GONG

And, someday, we’ll likely lose it entirely
What’ll happen if it does? No one knows
Its unknown message to us
Turns to dust washed up in a desert

GONG

Has it tried to warn us of something?
Has it been telling us to follow it?
Has it fed up with our indifference?
Why? That is all I ask.

GONG

I feel our time is soon up
I’ve wandered in search before
But to no avail. There are no signs
Which show me the answers I seek

GONG

I fear, every time, this may be the last
We always go through this, and to what end?
This gamble we roll every month like this
What will we lose once that chime hits us?

a

It’s silent now, will this be it?
Now is the time for waiting,
For what, I don’t know
Why? That is all I ask.

Leave a comment